The Dunlop Development race in Perth proved to an event filled affair

The Dunlop Development race in Perth proved to an event filled affair

Renowned as a really tight circuit, Barbagallo provided lots of action on the bends.

The nature of the course created trouble for several feel seasoned drivers and the Finance Ezi Racing lads encountered some of the action, resulting in some unfortunate incidents. However, the cars and drivers performed admirably despite the collision prone event. The talent displayed on the track is not indicative of their final placings.

Ash Walsh has officially taken the lead of the Dunlop Series by recording an authoritative victory in Round 2 at Barbagallo.
Walsh’s only real scare had come at the first corner, where the right-rear of his Matt Stone Racing Ford made contact with the left-front of Steve Owen’s entry as the pair disputed the top spot.

Owen slowed immediately after the contact and was soon clipped by the passing Casey Stoner on the run to Turn 4.
Stoner rejoined at the rear of the field, eventually finishing 21st, while Owen would take no further part in proceedings.

The late Safety Car was called to retrieve Andre Heimgartner’s Finance Ezi Ford from the Turn 1 gravel trap. The Kiwi had made contact with fellow Ford driver Nick McBride prior to leaving the circuit.

Second place in the final race of the weekend was enough for Ash Walsh to score a maiden Dunlop Series round victory at Barbagallo.
The Matt Stone Racing Ford driver started Race 3 on pole position courtesy of his first and fifth place finishes from the opening two encounters and led the opening 17 laps of the 20 lap finale.

Jones was demoted to 15th post-race however thanks to a five second penalty for a false start.
Casey Stoner meanwhile spent the entire journey in the heart of the squabbling pack, starting and finishing 21st.

The 27-year-old’s race including a dice with Josh Hunter that eventually saw the Finance Ezi Ford dispatched into the Turn 6 sand trap.
Walsh now leads the standings by 18 points from Wood after two of seven rounds.

Full round result

1 Ashley Walsh 274
2 Dale Wood 268
3 Taz Douglas 235
4 Daniel Gaunt 225
5 Kristian Lindbom 208
6 Paul Morris 207
7 Jack Perkins 204
8 George Miedecke 175
9 Andrew Jones 172
10 Cameron Waters 169
11 Drew Russell 142
12 Gary Jacobson 133
13 Geoff Emery 125
14 Nick McBride 125
15 Chris Pither 122
16 Morgan Haber 120
17 Aaren Russell 112
18 Rodney Jane 104
19 Steve Owen 99
20 Marcus Zukanovic 89
21 Casey Stoner 86
22 Sam Walter 81
23 Josh Hunter 79
24 Brett Stewart 68
25 Andre Heimgartner 65
26 Jim Pollicina 57
27 Michael Hector 50
28 Aaron Tebb 30
29 Nandi Kiss 30
30 Aaron McGill 17