Finance Ezi in top ten in round 4 of the Khumo Series

SYDNEY young gun Ryan Simpson has clean-swept Round 4 of the Kumho Tyres Australian V8 Touring Car Series at Queensland Raceway. And this means that four different drivers have won the first four rounds of the Kumho Series – the first time in the category’s six-year history that this has occurred.

Despite missing the first two rounds at Sydney Motorsport Park and Mallala, Simpson has now moved to sixth in the series pointscore and claimed round victory over Morgan Haber.

Terry Wyhoon clawed through the field to finish seventh overall, while Evangelou’s ex-CAT Falcon suffered clutch problems in the final race and he now has drifted 102 points behind Shae Davies who ran third.

Toowoomba racer Nathan Assaillit rounded out a solid weekend of racing to finish a personal best fourth for the round ahead of Matt Hansen’s ex-Mark Skaife, Holden Racing Team Commodore.

The top 10 for the round was completed by Dan Day (a personal best in sixth), Wyhoon, debutante Jordan Skinner, Finance Ezi’s Maurie Pickering and Steve Briffa, who failed to finish Race 3.

Television coverage of this weekend’s Kumho Series round will air in upcoming weeks on SBS’ ‘Speedweek’ and on SPEED on Foxtel at a later date.

The penultimate round of the Kumho Tyres Australian V8 Touring Car Series will be held at Phillip Island on September 21-22.

1. Ryan Simpson, Falcon BF, 143 pts
2. Morgan Haber, Falcon BF, 119 pts
3. Shae Davies, Falcon BF, 109 pts
4. Nathan Assaillit, Falcon BF, 91 pts
5. Matt Hansen, Commodore VZ, 78 pts
6. Dan Day, Falcon BF, 52 pts
7. Terry Wyhoon, Falcon BF, 45 pts
8. Jordan Skinner, Commodore VZ, 45 pts
9. Maurice Pickering, Falcon BA, 42 pts
10. Steve Briffa, Commodore VZ, 37 pts
1. Shae Davies, 416 pts
2. Terry Wyhoon, 334 pts
3. Tony Evangelou, 314 pts
4. Matt Hansen, 302 pts
5. Nathan Assaillit, 259 pts
6. Ryan Simpson, 251 pts
7. Steve Briffa, 232 pts
8. Morgan Haber, 231 pts
9. Chris Smerdon, 171 pts
10. Dan Day, 168 pts